Do the ‘Roo!

25 May

Do you do the ‘Roo?

This is my second year going to the Bonnaroo Music Festival. In general I’m not an outdoorsy, campy, sweaty kind of chick. I prefer showers, real bathrooms, a mirror, and make-up.. but once a year ALL of that goes out the window for the greatest music experience my generation will ever know!

This year marks the 10 year anniversary of Bonnaroo.. and while I’m not super stoked on the line-up (last year’s was AH-MAZ-ING), I am excited to spend four days on the farm in Manchester with my best friend! We almost have everything we need. I thought I would share my list, just in case some of you newbies have no idea what to bring!

I know my list looks long but it’s much shorter than last years list. We over packed and really it was more of a pain than anything else. This year I am going to try to keep it pretty basic and on a MUST HAVE basis.

The camping supplies are a no brainer! In addition to bringing a tent, cooler, tarp, canopy, and chairs.. I highly suggest bring a solar shower. You can get them just about anywhere that sales camping equipment and I think mine cost about $8 bucks! Considering that the showers cost $7 a pop, the solar shower pretty much pays for itself! At nine in the morning when the sun is already blazing, the cold water feels SO good. Such a great way to start the day. I also suggest taking a BIG box of baby wipes. I think they sell boxes of 100 count wipes at Wal*Mart for $1.98. They are perfect for when you need to wipe all the sweat and dirt off. Regardless of how you try to keep clean.. most likely, it’s not going to happen. Just accept that fact and move on.. they call ’em “dirty hippies” for a reason! ❤

Another great purchase I made last year was a battery-powered tent fan. I don’t remember what the average temperature was last year.. all I know is it was HOT. All day. Every day. So be prepared. The tent fan was great for those breaks at camp because I could hold it right in front of my face and cool off. I also sit it pointing right at me while I was sleeping and it helped me sleep a little longer than sun up. Once that hot sun starts peeking, it get’s crazy hot. Fast. Tent fans can be purchased at all kinds of retailers. I got mine at Wal*Mart for under $15. TOTALLY WORTH IT.

This is just common sense but I can’t tell you how many people I saw walking around with gnarly sunburns. USE SUNSCREEN PEOPLE!! I used a moisturizer with SPF 15 on my face first, then added a sunscreen with SPF 50 and applied it to the rest of my body. Don’t forget a chap stick with some kind of SPF, gotta protect those smackers!! I also wore a large brimmed hat during the day to keep the  sun off of my face, neck, and shoulders.. it did wonders!! I’ve already found the PERFECT hat at General Dollar for $4!!

Shoes. I have no idea what the answer for the best shoes for Bonnaroo. I wore my Birkenstock’s one day and they KILLED my feet. I tried my Teva’s for a bit and they started rubbing a blister. So as a last resort I switched to a pair of $8 flip-flops I got at Academy Sports right before I left last year and LOVED them. They had wide woven straps and a thick, squishy foot bed. I had to toss them after I got home because they were so gross, but HOPEFULLY I will be able to find a pair similar to those. I thought about maybe trying a pair of Reef flip-flops. I’ve heard that they are super comfortable and can be worn for long periods of time. I guess I’ll find out!!

Last year it rained for about 10 minutes the whole weekend, so this wasn’t really an issue but I kept my camera, phone, and anything else deemed important in a plastic ziplock bag. That way if it did come a torrential downpour, nothing gets ruined!

EAR PLUGS!! I’ve already been called a granny for having these on my list. But at three in the morning, when you’re trying to sleep and your neighbors decide to have a late night dance party.. you’re going to be thanking me. OR if your camp site ends up close to one of the stages.. you’re going to be thanking me. I might have looked like a dork but I slept like a baby!!

As far as taking food, that’s totally subjective. Last year we took about $100 worth of stuff and it was just TOO much. This year I’m keeping it simple with LOTS and LOTS of water (bottles and gallon jugs – frozen beforehand), lunchables, frozen fruit, orange juice, beef jerky, cheese and crackers, and my adult beverages of choice. Honestly, it’s so hot you aren’t going to feel like eating until late night. I tried to eat a lunchable before heading into Centeroo during the day, pack a light snack, and drink LOTS of water during the day. Then at night I would switch to my adult beverage of choice and spy down some yummy food at one of the vendors inside. Everyone always complains about the food prices in Centeroo but I think they are pretty reasonable. It seems like most meals were under $10 and PERFECT for after the sun goes down and my tummy starts growling!

So there you have it.. Amanduhhhhh’s simple guide to Bonnaroo. Of course, not ALL of this is going to work for everyone… but it works for me!! Mainly, don’t be an idiot and use your brain (which is what I am ALWAYS telling my younger brother). We typically have two rules for Bonnaroo. 1. Have fun. 2. Don’t die. Sounds like a good plan, right?!

Leave a Reply

