Look at this Stuff, isn’t it Neat?

27 May

(image snagged from Post Secret )

This is so perfect, I might not be 28 (yet) but I’m on my way and I definitely still pretend to be a mermaid when I go swimming.

When I was growing up, me and my besties went swimming pretty much every single day… and every single day we played “Little Mermaid”. We would put a dive ring around our ankles, so that our feet were our mermaid fins and we’d swim around the pool.. singing songs from the classic Disney movie, “The Little Mermaid”. Under the diving board is where the very evil Ursula lived, she would cast spells on our make-believe boyfriends and we would have to save them. It was such a fun time in my life and I will always remember it fondly!

I love that we had make-believe boyfriends!! I believe mine was Alan Jackson and Catherine’s was always Garth Brooks. I can’t remember who Jennifer’s was.. maybe Toby Keith or Tim McGraw? It seems like she jumped from fake boyfriend to fake boyfriend. Does that make her a fake Slutty McSlutterson? Just kidding Jenn-Jenn… love you… mean it! We were crazy youngins! Now I want to go play “Little Mermaid”.

Actually, Ariel has inspired me.. I think I need some bright red hair! Sounds fun to me!!

2 Responses to “Look at this Stuff, isn’t it Neat?”

  1. Amber May 27, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    I do, too! I dont go swimming as much as I used to, but hopefully I will more this summer!

  2. leeleegirl4 May 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    My cousin and I played Mermaids every time we went swimming for several summers. We didn’t include my little sister because she wasn’t a good swimmer. Eventually, she caved and declared that she wanted to be a mermaid too. She learned how to swim within the week.

    We never had boyfriends when we were mermaids. Clearly we were missing out.

Leave a Reply

